Contributors' Notes

Issue Eighty-Five: August 2016


Harold Abramowitz is from Los Angeles.  He is author and co-author of books of poetry and prose, including Blind Spot, Dear Dearly Departed, Not Blessed, and UNFO Burns A Million Dollars. Harold writes and edits as part of the collaborative projects eohippus labs, SAM OR SAMANTHA YAMS and UNFO. 

Bradley Babendir is a fiction writer and critic. His work has appeared in The Collapsar, the Los Angeles ReviewThe Doctor T.J. Eckleburg ReviewBookslut and elsewhere. He is an MFA candidate in Fiction at Emerson College and lives in Boston, Massachusetts.

Dylan Brown is a graduate of the MFA program at Oregon State and is the event manager at Napa Bookmine. Other work of his has appeared in Brevity and McSweeney's Internet Tendency, and is forthcoming in Barrelhouse. In the fall he'll be teaching at Sonoma State.

Jeff Bursey is a Canadian novelist, short story writer, playwright, and literary critic. His fiction includes the novels Verbatim: A Novel (Enfield & Wizenty, 2010), Mirrors on which dust has fallen (Verbivoracious Press, 2015), and stories that have appeared in the award-winning anthology Riptides: New Island Fiction (2012), and the journals Riddle Fence, The Winnipeg Review, and Numéro Cinq; his non-fiction is collected in Centring the Margins: Essays and Reviews (2016, Zero Books).

Anders Carlson-Wee is a 2015 NEA Creative Writing Fellow and the author of Dynamite, winner of the 2015 Frost Place Chapbook Competition. His work has appeared in Ploughshares, New England Review, Narrative, AGNI, The Missouri Review, Best New Poets, and The Best American Nonrequired Reading series. With his brother Kai, he is coauthor of two chapbooks: Mercy Songs and Two-Headed Boy, winner of the 2015 David Blair Memorial Chapbook Prize. The recipient of Ninth Letter’s Poetry Award and New Delta Review’s Editors’ Choice Prize, he is currently a 2016 McKnight Foundation Creative Writing Fellow.

Robert Fanning is the author of three full-length collections: Our Sudden Museum, American Prophet, The Seed Thieves, and two chapbooks: Sheet Music, and Old Bright Wheel. His poems have appeared in Poetry, Ploughshares, Shenandoah, The Atlanta Review, and other journals. He is an Associate Professor of Creative Writing at Central Michigan University and the founder and facilitator of the Wellspring Literary Series in Mt. Pleasant, MI., where he lives with his wife, sculptor Denise Whitebread Fanning, and their two children. To read his work, visit

Aricka Foreman’s poems have appeared in The Drunken Boat, Minnesota Review, RHINO, Day One, shuf Poetry, James Franco Review, thrush, Vinyl Poetry, PLUCK!, and Please Excuse This Poem: 100 New Poems for the Next Generation by Viking Penguin, among others. She is the author of Dream With A Glass Chamber (YesYes Books) and is the Art co-editor at The Offing.

John David Harding teaches writing and research as a faculty member in the Cannon Memorial Library at Saint Leo University. His creative work includes publications in fiction, poetry, and visual art.

Sarah Huener is a writer and musician from North Carolina. She received her BA from UNC Chapel Hill and her MFA from Boston University. She was a Robert Pinsky Global Fellow in Fall 2013. Sarah's recent work can be found in the Greensboro Review, Crab Creek Review, Salamander, and in the North Carolina volume of the Southern Poetry Anthology (Texas Review Press, 2015). She has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize, and was a finalist for the 2014 Pocataligo Poetry Contest. Sarah reviews poetry for the North Carolina Literary Review.

Jeannine Hall Gailey served as the second Poet Laureate of Redmond, Washington. She’s the author of five books of poetry: Becoming the Villainess, She Returns to the Floating World, Unexplained Fevers, The Robot Scientist’s Daughter, and Field Guide to the End of the World, coming from Moon City Press in fall 2016. Her work has been featured on NPR’s The Writer’s Almanac, Verse Daily, and in The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror. Her poems have appeared in The American Poetry Review and Prairie Schooner.

Jessica Jacobs is the author of Pelvis with Distance (White Pine Press), winner of the New Mexico Book Award, an Over the Rainbow selection by the American Library Association, and a finalist for the Lambda Literary Award and Julie Suk Award. Her chapbook In Whatever Light Left to Us is forthcoming from Sibling Rivalry Press. An avid long-distance runner, Jessica has worked as a rock climbing instructor, bartender, editor, and professorand now serves as faculty at Writing Workshops in Greece. She lives in Asheville, North Carolina, with her wife, the poet Nickole Brown.

Cindy King’s work has appeared in Callaloo, North American Review, River Styx, American Literary Review and elsewhere. Her poems can also be heard at and She has received a Tennessee Williams Scholarship from the Sewanee Writers' Workshop and the Agha Shahid Ali Scholarship in Poetry from the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown. Originally from Cleveland, Ohio, she currently lives in Utah, where she is an Assistant Professor of English at Dixie State University.

Maryse Meijer is the author of the story collection Heartbreaker. Her work has appeared in Joyland, Portland Review, St. Ann's Review, Reunion, Meridian, and elsewhere. She lives in Chicago. 

David Nilsen is a librarian and writer from Ohio. He is the lead critic for the Fourth & Sycamore literary journal and a member of the National Book Critics Circle. He has been published in Open Letters Monthly, Rain Taxi, Pithead Chapel, Punchnels, Bright Wall /Dark Room, the National Book Critics Circle's Critical Mass, and many other places around the web. You can find him on Twitter at @NilsenDavid. 

The author of landscape/heartbreak (Two Sylvias) and Last Night I Dreamt of Volcanoes (Organic Weapon Arts), Michelle Peñaloza’s recent poetry can be found in Poetry NorthwestVinyl Poetry, and forthcoming from Waxwing. She is the recipient of fellowships and awards from Kundiman, 4Culture, Artist Trust, and Hugo House, as well as scholarships from VONA/Voices, and the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference, among others.

Glen Pourciau’s first collection of stories, Invite, won the 2008 Iowa Short Fiction Award. His second story collection, View, is forthcoming from Four Way Books in February 2017. He’s had stories published by AGNI Online, Antioch Review, Epoch, New England Review, New Ohio Review, Paris Review, and other magazines.

Glenn Shaheen is the author of the poetry collections Predatory (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2011) and Energy Corridor (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2016), and the flash fiction chapbook Unchecked Savagery (Ricochet Editions, 2013).

C. Dale Young is the author of four collections of poetry, the most recent being The Halo (Four Way Books 2016). His collection of linked short stories, The Affliction, is due out from Four Way Books in early 2018. A recipient of fellowships from the NEA, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, and the Rockefeller Foundation, he practices medicine full-time and teaches in the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers. He lives in San Francisco.

Ian Randall Wilson's work has appeared in Forklift, Spinning Jenny, The Alaska Quarterly Review and  Puerto del Sol. A chapbook, Theme of the Parabola, was published by Hollyridge Press.

Alexis Zanghi is a writer living in Minneapolis. Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in SAND, Full Stop, The Point, and Los Angeles Review of Books.